A silver thread

ASilverThread

A silver thread …

The little girl Indra was just like a ball of wool rolled up in her bed and wept. Her mom had heard the soft cries and came to look at her.
“What is it, dear”, she asked with a warm voice.
“I’m so scared, Mommy.”
Mama lifted the little girl out of her bed and took her to the garden. She sat down on the porch swing with Indra in her arms and rocked her gently back and forth.
“Tell Mama, but why you’re so afraid. Have you seen strange things? Or are you scared of a sound?”
Indra shook her head and said in a hoarse voice: “I’m so afraid I’ll lose you, Mommy. When I go to sleep, I’m afraid you are not there when I wake up.”
Mom closed her arms tighter around her daughter.
“But, my baby girl, don’t you know that you can not get rid off me. You and I are stuck together.”
Cheerful smiling she looked at her little girl. Indra looked questioningly up and dried her tears.
“How can we stuck together”, said Indra as she looked at her arms and legs. “I don’t see a string.”
Her mom laughed loudly and said: “That is something you can’t see, only mommies and daddies can see that string. I have a silver thread tied to my wrist and the other end is fixed to you. Sometimes it is to your leg, and another time at a lock of your hair, but you’re always fastened on my silver thread. So wherever you are, I can always feel you.”
Indra rubbed her hand on one leg and then she felt her curls. “But I feel nothing, Mommy.”
“You know what? If you have your eyes tightly squeezes, then perhaps you can see the silver thread.”
Indra closed her eyes tightly and began to laugh.
“Oh, Mommy,” she looked surprised to her mommy. “I see a white stripe.”
Mom looked at her little girl with big eyes: “How wonderful. Do you know that this is very rare. But you know what that means?”
Giggling and curious Indra danced back and forth on the lap of her mother.
“That means you never have to worry that you can’t find mommy. If you close your eyes and you see the white line, then you know I am around.”

Tring, tring.
The doorbell rings. Indra jumps from the lap of her mother and skips to the frontdoor. There she waits for her mom and together they open the door. To their great surprise grandma is standing on the sidewalk.
Indra jumps into the arms of her grandma and starts telling that a silver thread is connecting her to her mom​​.
Elated Grandma laughs full and says: “Yes, but of course, I also have a string tied to your mom. Because she may well live on the other side of the country, I always know where she is.”
Indra looks at the hands of her grandmother, but can not find a silver thread. She squeezes her eyes shut and again she sees a white stripe.
“Yes, Grandma. I can see it.”

Later that evening grandmother brings her to bed.
“Goodnight dear Indra, dream about the silver thread. Now you don’t have to be afraid anymore.”

Leave a Reply

